Skip to content

June 2011 Art Show Preview: Michael Shane

June 10, 2011

How did you get started?

 I started painting about two years ago kind of as thereapy or as a release, because of things going on in my life. I started painting one day, got supplies and started playing, one thing led to another and I had 20-30 paintings piling up. My friends started showing it to others amd I was at Second Saturday. Now I’m opening up a new gallery downtown.

Self-taught, never felt of myself as an artist, now it’s kine of talking off, sold about 30 pieces, only been selling for about a year, it’s actually doing pretty well.

What medium to you enjoy working with?

I usually do acrylic abstract on canvas and that’s pretty much what my regular art is, I’m starting moving up to bigger sizes, sold a piece that was a 48 by 60. I like using a lot of texture, blending of different colors. I’m pretty bold when it comes to it, geometrical, my paintings are very masculine, I use really hard or sharp edges.

What inspires you?

It’s mainly just real life experience, a lot of titles of my paintings are pretty much everyday experiences, things that I’ve went through.  A bad relationship I went through about four years ago, put me through the ringer, but if I didn’t go through it, I wouldn’t have the desire to paint. I started painting to heal myself, didn’t realize at the time that [using art as an outlet] was something that was so common.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

